top of page
Writer's pictureSacred feminine

Chapter 5: Shumba Nishumb Proposal

Updated: Oct 24, 2020

I have already undertaken an oath which I cannot break. Let me inform you: "He who conquers me in battle, he who overcomes my pride, He whose strength is comparable to mine in this world, will be my consort. "


In another Time, the Asuras Shumba [ Pride/conceit or stupidity that results from conceit] and Nishumb [Self-Depreciation], two qualities/thoughts mastered the 3 worlds and overthrew the King of Heaven and Devas- Indra. The Asuras won over all the Devas and vanquished them in battle. Having been defeated all Devas go to Mount Kailasha and sing a hymn in praise of Parvati Ma. Who had manifested as Durga- Mahishasura Mardini at an earlier time. After hearing the long hymn of praise, a surprised Mata Parvati addressed the Devas. After hearing the story of the Devas, a dark energy named Kaushiki comes out of her Kosha or body. She will later be known as Chandika, Durga, etc in the story. She is the epitome of beauty and pinnacle of grace.


Two Asuras Chanda [The quality that makes one acquire anything forcefully just for greed, pleasure] Munda [The quality that makes one manipulate people and acquire things for yourself] see the divine Goddess in the Himalayas. They go to Asura King Shumba and Nishumba and tell them of her beauty., aura. They insist that she is the best jewel that either of the two brothers should possess. Convinced, King Shumba and King Nishumba ask Sugriva[ frenemy quality] to take the proposal to the beautiful queen.


Sugriva approaches the divine Goddess and tells her to accept the proposal and marry either of the brothers and be INTELLIGENT with her decision.


To which the Divine Mother Goddess answers: "What you say is true, both are very valiant but I have low intelligence and unknowingly


I have already undertaken an oath which I cannot break. Let me inform you of it: "He who conquers me in battle, he who overcomes my pride, He whose strength is comparable to mine in this world, will be my consort. "



Sugriva goes back and informs this to the King Asura Shumba, Asura Nishumba.


Gratitude to Ishaputra- Kaulantak Nath, who bestowed his divine wisdom onto me and Inspired me to read, research on Durga Sapthshati.


OM NAMAS CHANDIKAYE!

OM DUM DURGAYE NAMAHA!

OM PADMAPRIYA RAMPATI ISHAPUTRAYA NAMAHA



50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
bottom of page